Mirror mirror on the wall…

For some reason, we’ve a shortage of mirrors in our home, but a recent haul at a northern auction has helped. Both had seen better days but a bit of TLC and a lick of (Farrow & Ball) paint has soon sorted them out.

This one was a dark wood one and I’ve painted it in Farrow & Ball’s Blackened.

DSC_0334 DSC_0336

For this one I chose Farrow & Ball’s Shaded White and it’s really brought out the detailing around the edges.

DSC_0329

Whenever you paint furniture, preparation is key – make sure the surface has had a light sand and I find using a weak sugar soap solution helps make the surface as clean and smooth as possible. A good quality primer should be used too before you apply your paint, I always tend to use eggshell as I love the finish.

 

 

Leave a comment